School Logo

Fulwood and Cadley Primary School

Wish it. Dream it. Do it. Be unique

Get in touch

Social Media


Early Years Foundation Stage


We know how important the first year of school is for every parent and their child. To help parents of new starters to our school, we provide new to Reception parental meetings prior to and during the first half term as well as operating an open door policy throughout the year. To support the transition of all pupils into the foundation stage, a key person is assigned to all children. Their role is to meet the individual needs of that child; they seek to engage families and suggest ways in which support can be adopted at home to guide the child's development. 


The Areas of Learning and Development


There are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas are known as the prime areas which are:


• communication and language;

• physical development; 

• personal, social and emotional development.


School also supports children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:


* literacy;

* mathematics;

* understanding the world; 

* expressive arts and design.


All learning experiences within the EYFS must include the following:


Communication and language development which involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.


Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity and to make healthy choices in relation to food. 


Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.


Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest of books whilst also taking part in lots of oral story telling through our Talk For Writing curriculum. 


Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems. They also learn to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.


Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment. 


Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.