School Logo

Fulwood and Cadley Primary School

Wish it. Dream it. Do it. Be unique

Get in touch

Social Media


Personal, Social, Health Education

PSHE Intent Statement


PSHE (Personal, Social, Health and Emotional) education gives pupils the knowledge, skills, and attributes they need to keep themselves healthy and safe and to prepare them for life and work.  Our PHSE curriculum which incorporates RSE (relationships and sex education), SMSC (social, Moral, spiritual and cultural education) and British Values aims to do just that.  Through our well-planned and thought provoking scheme of work the children develop the knowledge, skills and attributes they need to manage their lives now and in the future. 

The skills that are taught and developed over a child’s time at Fulwood and Cadley Primay school will not only help them stay safe and healthy but equip them with what they need throughout later life to allow them to thrive as individuals, family members and members of society.   The curriculum will provide them with the knowledge and confidence to make responsible decisions relating to sensitive issues that will arise throughout their life.   It will develop Knowledge and awareness of safe and secure relationships and raise awareness of personal health both physical and mental.

Our PHSE, RSE, SMSC and British Values curriculum also helps to support a child’s well-being through discretely taught mindfulness sessions and therefore support children in breaking down any barriers that they may have to learning.

Relationships and sex education (RSE) is an important part of PSHE education. Relationships education is compulsory for all primary school pupils. 




At Fulwood & Cadley Primary School, we use myHappyMind to help create a positive mental wellbeing culture in which children build resilience, self-esteem, and character. My Happy Mind uses the latest research, science, and technology to help children develop lifelong habits and learn to thrive.

 myHappyMind is taught across the whole school in weekly sessions, and consists of 5 units:


Meet Your Brain – Learning about how our brains work.

Celebrate – Understanding our character strengths and celebrating ourselves.

Appreciate – Developing gratitude as a habit.

Relate – Building positive relationships.

Engage – Engaging with the world.



Whole School Curriculum Map

Information for parents

Parental Consultation

If you have any questions, issues or concerns regarding the new statutory PSHE curriculum please let us know.